Running Wild – Rapid Foray

Label: Steamhammer / SPV      Release: August 26th, 2016

Teutonic Metal veterans Running Wild have finally launched another studio album. Fans had to wait for a while, as a broken shoulder had kept mastermind, singer and guitarist Rolf Kasparek from setting sails into new adventures for a whole year. It was worth the wait, though, because “Rock N’ Rolf” and his crew Peter Jordan– guitars, Ole Hempelmann– bass and Michael Wolpers– drums have managed to keep Running Wild in their familiar Jolly Roger waters and still give the band a modern and fresh sound .
The opener Black Skies, Red Flag presents what to expect from the following 10 tracks – massive riffing, catchy melodies and choruses, mean and lean guitar work, incredible soli and guitar harmonies (just listen to the one in the last third of Blood Moon Rising – goose flesh), heavy banger-friendly rhythms and this trade mark voice of Rock N’ Rolf. And no slowing down or walking the plank to Pop – there’s plenty of double bass drum and uptempo instead. The first notes of The Depth of the Sea sound like an instant classic – almost regrettable it is “only” an instrumental..
Personal highlights: “Black Bart” (great chorus), Hellestrified (great guitar work) and of course the epic and multi-layered 11min Last Of The Mohicans featuring a sensational guitar melody … Only The Blood In Your Heart chorus sounds a bit too cheesy for my taste, although those bagpipes are really nice. Nevertheless, I can already imagine massive audience choirs singing along with this one at festivals…

1. Black Skies, Red Flag 4:44
2. Warmongers 4:29
3. Stick To Your Guns 5:08
4. Rapid Foray 4:47
5. By The Blood In Your Heart 5:27
6. The Depth Of The Sea – Nautilus (instr.) 3:53
7. Black Bart 5:06
8. Hellestrified 4:22
9. Blood Moon Rising 4:20
10. Into The West 4:34
11. Last Of The Mohicans 11:11


RUNNING WILD - "Black Bart" (Official Lyric Video)

  • 8.5/10
    Bewertung / rating - 8.5/10

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL! In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, "Jane of all trades" - - - addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there's painting, drawing, movies, theater... so you can expect some variety on this website too. MA Master of Arts, English and American studies & Media communication = completed two full studies parallel within 5 years; very proud of my achievement - a bit later in life thanks to a scholarship - as a working class girl in a highlyconservative-romancatholic nation...

Leave a Reply