Árstíðir lífsins – Aldrlok

Label: Acherontic Arts release: May 31, 2024

An epic acoustic journey into the darker corners of the Viking age: Árstíðir lífsins’ sixth album titled ‘Aldrlok’ contains nine songs with both modern and classic Black Metal elements, as well as ambient folklore patterns supported by dark chants and classical instruments. Or, let’s put it this way, if Wardruna had evil siblings, they probably sounded like this.

‘Aldrlok’ is sung entirely in Old Norse-Icelandic with heavy use of Skaldic and Eddic poetry. The story is based on both societal and mythological topics, and plays out in some of the most turbulent times of change in Iceland: in the first half of the eleventh century, some forty years after the Christianisation in 999/1000. The album depicts a fictional story set in a period of Icelandic history of which generally little is known. Nevertheless, it was a turbulent time where older customs became obsolete and gave way to new traditions and, not least, new forms of belief. It is these particular circumstances which the title of the album alludes to, since ‘Aldrlok’ can be translated to ‘Death of an Age’, or simply ‘Death’.

‘Aldrlok’ was composed and recorded in Norway, Sweden and Germany in 2022 and mixed and mastered in September 2022 by Markus Stock at Studio E, Mellrichstadt, Germany. The layout was done by Christopher Duis ( So if you like your Pagan / Black Metal in a wide variety from epic-mystical with choirs, spoken-word and tender acoustic instruments to brutal double-bass & growl attacks, this is the album for you.

1. Hvítir hjǫrvar Heimdalls aldraðra fjallgylða (11:01 min)
2. Stormr, hvítundit grand grundar gjálfrs (10:21 min)
3. Er faðir kulda ok myrkrs hopar fyrir endalausum vegi Ránar (13:07 min)
4. Eftir bjartlogar hróts hreggs kveikja ógnarstríðan úlf storðar í grasinu (07:23 min)
5. Nú er lengstu miskunndir dalreyðar ná hátindi (05:13 min)
6. Nauð greyprs élreka (06:55 min)
7. Ek sneri aftr til golfhǫlkvis fleygra sárelda heiftar (05:45 min)
8. Fyrsta fǫnnin fellr úr hátunnu regns (09:09 min)
9. Ofsaveðrsgnýr ber auma bústaði (14:04 min)

Stefán – Guitars, bass, vocals & choirs
Árni – Drums, string instruments, effects, vocals & choirs
Marsél – Storyteller, vocals & choirsLine-up:

  • 8/10
    Bewertung / rating - 8/10

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL! In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, "Jane of all trades" - - - addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there's painting, drawing, movies, theater... so you can expect some variety on this website too. MA Master of Arts, English and American studies & Media communication = completed two full studies parallel within 5 years; very proud of my achievement - a bit later in life thanks to a scholarship - as a working class girl in a highlyconservative-romancatholic nation...