Stråle – Bourbon Souls

FDA Records already released

WOW, that’s how I like my Alternative Metal: Strååling is an impressive opener, those Finns indeed rock! Heavy guitars and catchy riffs and the appealing voice – not too high – of singer Ålarik. The sextet from Helsinki show a good feeling for melodies and harmonies – and I cannot find a comparison right away, which speaks for the band. Sonata Arctica meets Entwine? Sentenced meets Turbonegro? Sunrise Avenue play Metal? In any case you’ll get a good mix of Hardrock, Rock-Pop and Metal, pure ear candy and a trigger to dance. In between there are some more complex and still catchy songs, e.g. Parasite. Yet sometimes it’s getting too much for me with the keyboard and some overly sweet melodies (No One’s Around Me). The album was mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren and Linus Corneliusson at Fascination Street Studios in Sweden, the Artwork was created by Roberto Toderico (Asphyx, Sinister etc). Something for your summer party, or for the illusion of having one alone at home… in any case an album you wanna listen to more than once in a row.

01. Strååling
02. Faithless
03. Control
04. Parasite
05. No One’s Around Me
06. Wasted
07. Arnold
08. Where Everything Disappears
09. The King Of Silence

  • 8.5/10
    Bewertung / rating - 8.5/10

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL! In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, "Jane of all trades" - - - addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there's painting, drawing, movies, theater... so you can expect some variety on this website too. MA Master of Arts, English and American studies & Media communication = completed two full studies parallel within 5 years; very proud of my achievement - a bit later in life thanks to a scholarship - as a working class girl in a highlyconservative-romancatholic nation...