Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow – Memories in Rock II

2 CD & DVD   Label: Minstrel Hall    release: 6.4.2018

Ritchie Blackmore! Rainbow! Live! 2 CD+DVD package including 19 live tracks, a BRAND NEW studio track and more than 80 min backstage-videos featuring interviews with all band members! Yes, an interview with the rather media-avoiding Master Ritchie himself (where he reveals e.g. how this Rainbow re-boot came into being)!

Any more details required to have you punch the “purchase immediately” button of your favourite online dealer or storm into the nearest record store?

Okay, in case you need some more info:

After a couple of gigs in 2016 at German Monsters Of Rock and in the UK (recorded and released on CD and DVD),
legendary guitarist Ritchie Blackmore brought his new Rainbow line up to the UK for three unique concerts in 2017. These memorable musical moments are now released in high quality format on a double disc CD set, plus a DVD containing the first time ever seen backstage videos; Go behind the scenes with Rainbow: Over 1 hour of special backstage interviews and impromptu footage. Hence this release can be seen as the logical sequel to the first Memories in Rock  2016 package or be enjoyed just as it is.

This Memories in Rock II unites guitar legend Ritchie Blackmore and Ronnie Romero (vocals), Jens Johansson (keys), Bob Nouveau (bass), David Keith (drums), Candice Night and Lady Lynn (backing vocals) performing high quality versions of Rainbow and Deep Purple classics. Ritchie Blackmore still plays a high-precision delicate style, make an instrumental like “Carry On Jon” poignant, goose-flesh-inducing, although one might notice he no longer gets into it as aggressively as “in younger years” (and perhaps he also avoids show effects like exploding amps nowadays …)

Singer / voice-chameleon Ronnie (… !!!) Romero somehow manages to assimilate certain qualities of typical Dio, Bonnet, Turner and even Coverdale and Gillan vocals, sometimes more, sometimes less. When he channels Gillan (Child in Time) and during his announcements it becomes most obvious that his own voice seems to be Dio reincarnated. Listening to his take on Stargazer or Temple of the King you find it hard to believe that this is NOT the other Ronnie who way-too-soon passed away … and that’s how you praise a singer!

Those fantastic 19 live tracks give room to solo performances and sound fantastic too – and this should be enough as a recommendation. BUT there is also a brand new gooseflesh-inducing new Rainbow single, the first since 1996, “Waiting For A Sign” that lives and breathes the spirit of legendary Rainbow songs.

The DVD features more than 80 min interviews with all band members, a bonus backstage clip and a video clip for the 2017 studio version of  ‘I Surrender’… anything left to wish for? And who is not a fan (yet), or – inconceivable! – has never heard anything about Rainbow before, well, this should be enough to get you hooked.

Disc 1
01. Over The Rainbow
02. Spotlight Kid
03. I Surrender
04. Mistreated
05. Since You’ve Been Gone
06. Man On The Silver Mountain/Woman From Tokyo
07. 16th Century Greensleeves
08. Soldier Of Fortune
09. Perfect Strangers
10. Difficult To Cure
11. All Night Long
12. Child In Time
Disc 2
01. Stargazer
02. Long Live Rock’n’Roll/Lazy
03. Catch The Rainbow
04. Black Night
05. Carry On Jon
06. Temple Of The King
07. Smoke On The Water
08. Waiting For A Sign
Disc 3 DVD
01. Ritchie Blackmore Interview
02. Ronnie Romero Interview
03. Jens Johansson Interview
04. Bob Nouveau Interview
05. David Keith Interview
06. Candice Night Interview
07. Lady Lynn Interview
08. Dave David Interview
09. Andreas Bock Interview
10. Michael Bockmühl Interview
11. Bonus Backstage Clip
12. I Surrender 2017 Backstage Clip

Released in 3 formats:
A 2CD+DVD set, a 180g 3LP Gatefold vinyl & a 140g 3LP limited edition gatefold blue vinyl, a 180g 3LP Gatefold vinyl & a 140g 3LP limited edition gatefold blue vinyl and in digital format.

For more information on Ritchie Blackmore, please visit:

  • 10/10
    Bewertung / rating - 10/10

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL! In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, "Jane of all trades" - - - addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there's painting, drawing, movies, theater... so you can expect some variety on this website too. MA Master of Arts, English and American studies & Media communication = completed two full studies parallel within 5 years; very proud of my achievement - a bit later in life thanks to a scholarship - as a working class girl in a highlyconservative-romancatholic nation...