.Klein – Bengal Sparks

Label: Spezialmaterial Records; Release: 18/05/2016

.Klein is the solo project of German multi-instrumentalist Nikolaus Kratzer. Crossing genres with ease is his speciality, and this works to varying degrees of success on this album. The chill-out tracks really stand out as the masterpieces on this album, well arranged, great vocals and well thought out construction. Staying away from the cover version of Low Rider (my personal low point of the album), this album is a roller coaster of songwriting, with obvious mixed results.

Standout track – Nicotine Princess is much poppier than most of the album, but in a very good way. Simple but catchy and full of drive and minor chords, this is a good place to start.

Listen here

Track listing:

1. Feels Like May

2. The Eyes

3. Parkinglot

4. Bengal Sparks

5. Generally Speaking (feat. Mr. Vast)

6. Nicotine Princess

7. Low Rider

8. Pancake Man

9. Silly You (feat. Mr. Vast)

10.Ghostytown (feat. Kuoko)

11. Neon Fog

12. Cages

13. Canyoning

14. Nicotine Princess (Parasite Single Rmx)

15. Low Rider Tonfang Rmx)

  • 6.5/10
    Bewertung / rating - 6.5/10

Daniel Beech

- - - no longer active - - - Reviews, reports, photos (apparently!) - - - Favourite Genres? - A bit of everything, but nothing where I'm screamed at! Favourite bands? - Blur, System of A Down, Led Zeppelin, Beatles, mad Russian composers, Ed Harcourt, David Bowie, Russian Circles, Hatfield and the North...the list goes on - - - Other interests? - What is there other than music?!! Oh yeah, football and I've been know to watch the odd ridiculous comedy film from time to time.

Leave a Reply