Bruderschaft: Supergroup for Charity

Still looking for X-mas present ideas? Fans of Electro / Synth / EBM? You enjoy supporting a good cause? Then this project is something for you:

10 years ago, a super group named Bruderschaft – uniting members of VNV NATION, COVENANT, APOPTYGMA BERZERK and ICON OF COIL – released an EP named “Forever”, donating its sales revenues to various cancer charities.

Now Bruderschaft is back with a full 2 CD package “Return” – featuring an extended line-up from different bands, following the same idea: all net profits of this new album will go to various cancer charities for the purposes of research and treatment, and to assist families with loved ones who are suffering from cancer so that they can be there to provide comfort in their time of need.

Back then, the famous New York DJ and artist Rexx Arkana managed to gather VNV NATION, COVENANT, APOPTYGMA BERZERK and ICON OF COIL members for the “Forever” EP. Similarly, the new “Return” album adds his FGFC820 partner in crime Dräcos as a full-time band member and features a host of powerhouse artists and contributors fueled by the vocal contributions of talented singers from renown bands like ASSEMBLAGE 23, BEBORN BETON, HAUJOBB, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, COLONY 5, SYSTEM SYN, SYRIAN and IEN OBLIQUE. Amongst the musicians / songwriters, besides the original contributors of Joakim Montelius (COVENANT) and Sebastian Komor (ICON OF COIL, ZOMBIE GIRL, KOMOR KOMMANDO) we will also notice the contribution of Daniel Myer (HAUJOBB), Johann Sebastian (STATE OF THE UNION) and Maze (BLANK).

The “Forever” EP had been dedicated to Rexx Arkana´s father: Charles Richard Millhouse who died in 1999 after having lost the battle against cancer, he was only 57 years old.  “So much has changed in the ten years since this journey began”, says Rexx Arkana. “As my father and so many others stricken by cancer have discovered, life doesn’t always go according to plan. Neither did this record, but in the end I think we triumphed and the result is worth it. It is my sincerest wish that – someday – we might be able to say the same thing about this horrific deadly disease”.

While the perfect emotional vocals of Ronan Harris (VNV NATION) and Stephan Groth (APOPTYGMA BERZERK) transformed the debut EP “Forever” into an instant hit and classic future-pop anthem, it was often said back then that the only missing link to this all-star BRUDERSCHAFT gang was Tom Shear´s unique voice. “Return” changes this and even revises history by pushing the ASSEMBLAGE 23 singer into the driving seat on the uncontested “Return” but also on the upgraded album version of “Forever”. And it´s that same magic recipe that triumphantly gets used on every song with each singer perfectly capturing the raw emotions of the lyrics and contributing to the forceful depth of this beautiful album. Whether with Stefan Netschio of BEBORN BETON on the touching “6AM”, with Daniel Myer of HAUJOBB for the alluring and intricate “Falling”, with Daniel Graves of AESTHETIC PERFECTION for the EBM-pop pearl “Dead Tomorrow” or yet SYRIAN´s Andylab´s take on THE HUMAN LEAGUE´s classic cover “The Things That Dreams Are Made Of”… The honourable cause that the truth and sincerity of their shared feelings and emotions allow our favourite art expression that is electronic music to claim the grandeur of its cause and caressing perfection.

While enjoying BRUDERSCHAFT´s eloquent “Return”, let us all join hands again in this diligent human effort and contribute to this long and so important struggle against that devastating disease that is cancer.

This first edition of “Return” comes as a limited carton box with bonus disc featuring the remix work of some 12 bands including MESH, FUNKER VOGT, IMPERATIVE REACTION and EDGE OF DAWN to only cite a few.

This project is supported by Alpha Matrix, the Belgian label that has become a trademark for innovative electronic music. A label open to various styles including power EBM, dark elektro, intelligent industrial, synth pop, electronica, trip hop, drum’n bass, etc.

The first single release “Falling” makes definitely a good impression.

1. Trigger (feat. Clint Carney)
2. Return (feat. Tom Shear)
3. Dead Tomorrow (feat. Daniel Graves)
4. Goodbye (feat. Jared Lambert)
5. The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (feat. Andylab)
6. Falling (feat. Daniel Myer)
7. 6AM (feat. Stefan Netschio)
8. Goodbye (feat. P.O. Svensson)
9. Forever 2013 (feat. Tom Shear)

CD 2 – bonus disc only available in the limited carton box edition
1. Return (IMPERATIVE REACTION remix) (feat. Tom Shear)
2. Dead Tomorrow (V1RTUAL D3SCENT remix) (feat. Daniel Graves)
3. 6AM (Noise Suppression Mix by R010R) (feat. Stefan Netschio)
4. Return (MESH mix) (feat. Tom Shear)
5. Goodbye (FRONTAL BOUNDARYremix) (feat. Jared Lambert)
6. Falling (Hopeless Mix by ARMOR) (feat. Daniel Myer)
7. Trigger (EDGE OF DAWN mix) (feat. Clint Carney)
8. Return (CEPHALGY remix) (feat. Tom Shear)
9. Falling (ENTER AND FALL remix) (feat. Daniel Myer)
10. Goodbye (AESTHETIC PERFECTION mix) (feat. Jared Lambert)
11. Forever (HEAD-LESS mix) (feat. Ronan Harris)
12. Return (FUNKER VOGT remix) (feat. Tom Shear)

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL! In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, "Jane of all trades" - - - addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there's painting, drawing, movies, theater... so you can expect some variety on this website too. MA Master of Arts, English and American studies & Media communication = completed two full studies parallel within 5 years; very proud of my achievement - a bit later in life thanks to a scholarship - as a working class girl in a highlyconservative-romancatholic nation...