Bruce Dickinson “What does this button do?” An Autobiography

October 2017, Harper-Collins, Dey Street Books

Well, basically I do not really need to review this book – as it is a Must-Have for fans of Iron Maiden or Bruce’s solo projects anyway. And whoever does not like Heavy Metal or Iron Maiden, or music as such, or books – the most positive review won’t help at all…

However, this work of literature is worth to be mentioned, at least with a few words. It does not happen that often I experience LOL moments within the first pages of an autobiography, and it is obvious that someone with serious writing skills is at work here. A skill that does not only include lyrics but also business plans / presentations, movies, games, books for children, a movie – what hasn’t he written yet? And he has indeed a lot to write about, besides the band and life on the road as a Metal singer he’s airline pilot, entrepreneur and cancer-survivor… His style shows plenty of Monty-Python tongue-in-cheek attitude, and I’d bet that even someone who hates Metal would be interested to listen to a couple of Maiden songs just after reading a few chapters. Besides, I bet that there is also a lot of stuff the most devoted die-hard Iron Maiden fan did not know yet.

Summing up, I am not astonished that this book entered the best seller lists in no time (Sunday Times autobiography No 1) and has been translated to several languages already.

In case you had no idea yet how to make the Metalhead in your family / among your friends happy – this book is a perfect idea for Christmas.

Hardcover and Papberback: Harper-Collins Hardcover, Dey Street Books, 384 pages, also audio book and Kindle edition, see affiliate link below

Klaudia Weber

Klaudia Weber

reckless and merciless dictator, so KNEEL!
In other words, editor-in-chief, translator, website and ad admin, “Jane of all trades” – – –
addicted to books (everything between Lord Of The Rings & quantum physics) and music, mainly Metal made in Finland. Furthermore, there’s painting, drawing, movies, theater… so you can expect some variety on this website too.